Get Ready Solano

Para ver esta pagina en Español haga click aguí

Click here to view current events impacting Solano County.

Click here to view the 2021 Wildfire Preparedness Guide

This postcard was mailed to all unincorporated residents in Solano County.

Disaster Preparedness

Disaster can strike quickly and without warning. It can force you to evacuate your neighborhood or confine you to your home. What would you do if basic services--water, gas, electricity, or telephones--were cut off? Local officials and relief workers will be on the scene after a disaster, but they cannot reach everyone right away. Families can cope with disaster by preparing in advance and working together as a team. Knowing what to do is your best protection and your responsibility. 

Ready, Set, Go - Wildfire Preparedness Resources
ReadyForWildfire.org

Defensible Space defensible-space
Hardening Your Home hardening-your-home
Fire-Resistant Landscaping fire-resistant-landscaping
Wildfire Action Plan wildfire-action-plan
Prepare Your Family prepare-your-family
Emergency Supply Kit     See "Build a Kit" resources below
Insurance Preparedness insurance-preparedness Insurance Commissioner on Preparing for the Next Wildfire Season
Evacuation Guide go-evacuation-guide
Pre-Evacuation Preparation Steps pre-evacuation-preparation-steps
Plan for Power Outages power-outage-information
Evacuation Steps evacuation-steps
Animal Evacuation animal-evacuation
What to do if Trapped what-to-do-if-trapped
Sign-up for Emergency Notifications  alertsolano.com

Preparedness Resources
Make a Plan  ready.gov/plan    
Build a Kit ready.gov/kit     make a kit video emergency-supply-kit
Disaster Ready Guide listos-california
Planning for Seniors ready.gov/seniors     disaster preparedness
Planning for People with Disabilities     ready.gov/disability     how-to-prepare-for
emergencies
general preparedness
Planning for Pets and Animals ready.gov/pets    
Sign-up for Emergency Notifications alertsolano.com

Preparedness Resources by Disaster
Earthquake     ready.gov/earthquake  earthquake.ca.gov my shake mobile app  earthquakeauthority
Wildfire ready.gov/wildfire     readyforwildfire.org     pge wildfire
preparedness
Flood ready.gov/floods     floodsmart.gov storm ready sand & sandbags
Power Outage power-outage
information
ready.gov/power
outages
safety-and
preparedness
gas-shutoff-devices
PSPS prepare-for-psps updates and alerts what to expect psps-support   
Extreme Heat extreme heat cooling centers cdc-extreme-heat cdph-extreme-heat
Air Quality cdc-wildfire smoke carb-wildfire smoke video:wildfire smoke wildfire smoke factsheet-masks airnow.gov

Pandemic Resources
COVID-19      Coronavirus Information  covid19.ca.gov cdc.gov/coronavirus
West Nile West Nile Information  westnile.ca.gov

Get Notified                                                                             

Click Here to sign-up for Alert Solano
Click Here to follow @SolanoOES on Facebook
Click Here to follow @SolanoOES on Twitter
Click Here to listen to 95.3 Live

Firewise & Fire Safe Resources
California Fire Safe Council cafiresafecouncil.org/
NFPA Firewise USA nfpa.org/Firewise-USA
Green Valley Fire Safe Council    gvfsc.org/
PVAA Fire Safe Council pleasantsvalleyagricultureassociation.com/fire-safety-council
FIRESafe Marin firesafemarin.org/
Napa Firewise napafirewise.org/

Evacuation & Road Closure Terminology
Terminology is consistent with California statewide standards

Evacuation Order There is an immediate threat to life. It is a lawful order to leave now and the area is lawfully closed to public access. It is important to note that not all evacuation orders begin with an evacuation warning.
Evacuation Warning There is a potential threat to life and/or property. Those who require additional time to evacuate, and those with pets and/or livestock are encouraged to leave now.
Shelter in Place Go indoors. Shut and lock your doors and windows and be prepared to self-sustain until further notice and/or you are contacted by emergency personnel for additional direction.
Evacuation Orders Lifted       This is the formal announcement lifting evacuations in an area currently under evacuation.
Hard Closure Closed to all traffic except Fire and Law Enforcement.
Soft Closure Closed to all traffic except Fire, Law Enforcement, and critical incident resources (i.e. utility, Caltrans, City/County Roads, or those needed to repair or restore infrastructure.)
Resident Only Closure            Soft closure with the additional allowance of residents and local government agencies assisting with response and recovery.

Sign up to receive emergency notifications, alertsolano.com