

The Honorable Robert McConnell

c/o Alicia Draves. Secretary

Dear Chair McConnell:

City Selection Committee for the County of Solano

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Napa County and Cities

Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

> Margaret Abe-Koga Cities of Santa Clara County

San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700 www.mtc.ca.gov

Via electronic mail to clerk@solanocounty.com and U.S. mail

November 30, 2022

## **David Canepa** San Mateo County

Chair

RE:

Eddie Ahn

Cindy Chavez Santa Clara County

Damon Connolly Marin County and Cities 675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533

Carol Dutra-Vernaci Cities of Alameda County

Dina El-Tawansy California State Transportation Agency

> Victoria Fleming Sonoma County and Cities

**Dorene M. Giacopini** U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal D. Glover Contra Costa County

Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor's Appointee

> *Nate Miley* Alameda County

*Gina Papan* Cities of San Mateo County

David Rabbitt Association of Bav Area Governments

Hillarv Ronen

City and County of San Francisco

*Libby Schaaf* Oakland Mayor's Appointee

James P. Spering Solano County and Cities

Amy R. Worth Cities of Contra Costa County

Vacant U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

> Therese W. McMillan Executive Director

Alix Bockelman Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Andrew B. Fremier Deputy Executive Director, Operations

> Brad Paul Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services

I write to remind you that pursuant to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission's (MTC) enabling legislation at California Government Code Sec. 66500 *et seq.*, all MTC Commissioners are appointed to concurrent four-year terms. The current term of Solano County's representative on MTC, the Honorable James P. Spering, is set to expire on February 9, 2023.

Solano County's Representative on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Therefore, I have been requested by the Commission to instruct the City Selection Committee for the County of Solano to begin consideration of whether to nominate Mr. Spering for reappointment, and to furnish the Solano County Board of Supervisors with the names of three (3) nominees from which the Board shall appoint a representative to represent Solano County and serve a four-year term that will commence on February 10, 2023.

MTC Commission members may be elected or appointed officials, or members of the general public. Pursuant to Government Code Section 66504: "Commissioners shall be selected for their special familiarity with the problems and issues in the field of transportation."

MTC Commissioners should expect to serve on one or more of the Commission's standing, special or advisory committees. Usually, the Commission and each committee meet one or two times a month in San Francisco. From time to time, the Commission may conduct public hearings in the MTC region, which MTC Commissioners may be requested to attend. A \$100 per diem (up to a maximum of \$500 per month), plus Commission-authorized travel expenses, are paid to members for attendance at meetings of their committees, the Commission, and public hearings held by the Commission.

The Honorable Robert McConnell November 30, 2022 Page 2

Should you wish additional information concerning the Commission or the responsibilities of its members, please feel free to contact me. The Commission would appreciate being notified of the reappointment of Mr. Spering or the appointment of a new representative as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

-DocuSigned by:

Limberly Ward B34A6461955440D... Kimberly Ward Secretary to the Commission

The Hon. John M. Vazquez, Chair, Solano County Board of Supervisors cc: William Emlen, Clerk of the Board, Solano County Board of Supervisors Commissioner James P. Spering