News Details

County Supervisors appoint Mayor Patterson to serve as primary representative on Delta Conservancy Board

January 11, 2017

SOLANO COUNTY – The Solano County Board of Supervisors approved the appointment of Benicia Mayor Elizabeth Patterson as the primary representative and District 4 Supervisor John M. Vasquez as an alternate to the Delta Conservancy Board at the County Supervisors meeting yesterday.

Currently, District 5 Supervisor Skip Thomson serves as the primary representative and Eddie Woodruff as the alternate on the Delta Conservancy Board.  Their terms not set to expire until December 31, 2017.  With Supervisor Thomson's recent election to chairman of the Delta Protection Commission and increased activities on other boards, he requested his term end and be reassigned to Mayor Patterson.

"I am proud to appoint Mayor Patterson to serve as the primary representative on the Delta Conservancy Board on behalf of Solano County," said District 5 Supervisor Skip Thomson.  “Her work as a scientist, familiarity with water issues and passion for protecting our natural resources makes her a great fit.”

Pursuant to the legislation, the Delta Conservancy is governed by a 23-member Board, including eleven voting members, two non-voting members and ten liaison advisors.  Pursuant to California Public Resource Code, Solano County holds one voting seat that requires the Solano County Board of Supervisors to appoint a Solano County Board member or a designee to the Delta Conservancy.

The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy was created by the state Legislature as part of comprehensive Delta-focused legislation in November, 2009.  The Legislature created the Conservancy to act as a primary state agency to implement ecosystem restoration in the Delta and support efforts that advance environmental protection and the economic well-being of Delta residents.

Mayor Patterson and Supervisor John M. Vasquez commenced their two-year term starting January 10, 2017 and terminating on December 31, 2018.