ERIN HANNIGAN District 1, (707) 553-5363 MONICA BROWN District 2, Vice-Chair, (707) 784-3031 WANDA WILLIAMS District 3, Chair Pro-Tem (707) 784-6136 JOHN M. VASQUEZ District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129 MITCH MASHBURN District 5, (707) 784-6030



BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

April 26, 2023

The Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry Chairwoman, Assembly Local Government Committee 1021 O St., Ste. 6350 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: OPPOSE, AB 1637 (Irwin) Local government: internet websites and email addresses

Dear Chair Aguiar-Curry,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I write to inform you we must respectfully oppose AB 1637, which would require a local agency, as defined, that maintains an internet website for use by the public, to ensure that the internet website utilizes a ".gov" top-level domain or a ".ca.gov" second-level domain, and would require a local agency that maintains an internet website that is noncompliant with that requirement to redirect that internet website to a domain name that does utilize a ".gov" or ".ca.gov" domain. This bill would also require a local agency that maintains public email addresses to ensure that each email address provided to its employees utilizes a ".gov" domain name or a ".ca.gov" domain name. By adding to the duties of local officials, the bill would impose a state-mandated local program.

Solano County opposes AB 1637 as the bill would mandate local agencies to quickly update their public domains, all while neglecting to take into consideration the significant costs associated with making a transition of this magnitude. Additionally, Solano County is already making significant progress toward achieving this goal with the launch of a new website anticipated next year, along with an updated directory of emails. The effort to move to .gov domain may be wise, but it is not helpful to Solano County to put a regulatory deadline on the existing effort underway.

For these reasons, Solano County must respectfully oppose AB 1637.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, Chair Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC: The Honorable Bill Dodd, Senator The Honorable Lori D. Wilson, Assemblymember The Honorable Jacqui Irwin, Assemblymember The Honorable Solano County Board of Supervisors Tim Flanagan, Chief Information Officer and Registrar of Voters, Solano County Karen Lange, SYASL Partners